De Smet SD logo
Laura Ingalls Wilder Pageant

Lesch elected board president of SD Governor's Tourism Advisory Board

The South Dakota Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board has selected its officers for 2024.

Ann Lesch* of De Smet was elected the board president during a meeting today in Pierre. Caleb Arceneaux* was elected vice president.

“We are grateful for the faithful service and commitment of the Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board,” said James Hagen, Secretary of the Department of Tourism. “To have leaders like these who care so deeply about our state and this tourism industry is valuable. The leadership, experience, and knowledge of this industry is incredibly important, and their unwavering support is felt by many.”

The Tourism Advisory Board is appointed by the Governor and includes members of the tourism industry and citizen representatives from across the state. Board members serve as liaisons and advocates for the tourism industry as well as the Department of Tourism.

Current Tourism Advisory Board members include Caleb Arceneaux, Rapid City; Tom Biegler*, Sioux Falls; John Brockelsby*, Rapid City; Ted Hustead*, Wall; Ann Lesch, De Smet; Julie Ranum*, Watertown; Val Rausch*, Big Stone City; Carmen Schramm*, Yankton; Frank Smith, Gettysburg; Ivan Sorbel*, Kyle; and Kristi Wagner, Whitewood.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Travel South Dakota and the South Dakota Arts Council. The department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.

Community Calendar

Make plans to attend this years Laura Ingalls Wilder Pageant!

Make plans to attend this years Laura Ingalls Wilder Pageant!

Posted on: 02-01-2024

Learn More